Sun, 12/11/2011

Canada posted their first win of the Barbados tour yesterday against Combined Campuses & Colleges at the 3W's Ground, winning by 5 wickets. On a sticky wicket, Canada won the toss and elected to field first restricting the home side to just 92 runs of 20 overs. Canada passed the score in the penultimate over with 5 wickets in hand, Cheema on 16* and Sattar on 14*. Coach Michael Dighton has his first win as Canada's coach and is looking for more to round out the tour.


Combined Campuses & Colleges Innings

R.Currency c Surkari b Sorraine  24(38balls)
K.Mayers c Surkari b Aulakh 2(7)
K.Hope c Tariq b Cheema 1(5)
F.Reifer run out(Tariq) 26(32)
N.Parris c Sorraine b Siddiqui 10(16)
R.Wiggins c Tariq b Baidwan 4(6)
J.Holder not out 12(11)
K.McLean st Tariq b Baidwan
A.Dewar run out 2(5)

Extras: 3lb 1nb 7wides

Total: 92 off 20overs

Bowling: H.Osinde 2-0-16-0, M.Aulakh 4-0-15-1, H.Baidwan 4-0-20-2, R.Cheema 3-0-5-1, D.Sorraine 3-1-15-1, J.Siddiqui 4-0-18-1

Canada Innings

H.Patel c Currency b K.McLean 11(14balls)
D.Sorraine c McLean b J.Holder 14(12)
Z.Surkari c Parris b J.Holder 6(17)
R.Rehman c Austin b K.Mayers 20(21)
U.Limbada c Dewar b K.Mayers 4(21)
A.Sattar not out 14(15)
R.Cheema not out 16(12)

Extras: 2lb 6wides

Total: 93 off 18.4overs

Canada win by 5 wickets.

Sat, 12/10/2011

Canada lost its third straight match to Barbados on this tour, this time by nine wickets. Batting first, Canada struggled at the top to get any traction but the middle  order staged a fightback to pull Canada to three figures. The total was not enough however as Barbados overhauled it with ease coasting to their third victory on the trot against Canada. 




Fri, 12/09/2011

In game 1 Canada took to the field first, Barbados making 163. In reply Canada were 79/9 off 20 overs.

Canada were beaten soundly by Barbados in both matches on Thursday at Cavaliers Sports Club in Barbados. Barbados won the toss in match one and cruised to 165-5. Junaid Siddiqui was the pick of Canada's bowlers picking up 2-18. Manny Aulakh also picked up a pair and Khurram Chohan picked up a wicket before being forced to leave with a lower body injury. 

Osinde 4-0-31-0
Aulakh 4-0-37-2
Siddiqui 4-0-18-2
Roberts 4-0-37-0
Chohan 2.5-0-18-1
Hansra .1-0-1-0
Patel 1-0-15-0

In reply, Canada were unable to get any momentum with Raza Rehman (21) top scoring. Henry Osinde (17*)  added a late cameo as Canada were shut down at 79-9 from 20.  

Patel 9,Sattar 0,Surkari 10,Raza 21,Hansra 3,Limbada 6,Tariq 0,Siddiqui 3,Roberts 2,Manny 5*,Osinde 17*, Extras 3

Match 2 

More of the same in match 2 as Canada batted first in this game and posted 95 all out off the last ball of the innings. Jimmy Hansra top scored with 40 but only one other batsmen made it to double figures. Barbados were 3/96 in the 15th over, winning comfortably with Junaid Siddiqui (2-9) leading the bowling effort. 

Kumar 3,Sorraine 12,Wadia 3,Cheema 8,Hansra 40,Tariq 1,Limbada 5,Baidwan 5,Siddiqui 6,Roberts 1,Aulakh 3*, Extras 8

Osinde 3-0-28-0
Baidwan 2-0-21-0
Roberts 3-0-21-0
Siddiqui 3-0-9-2
Aulakh 2-0-10-0
Cheema 1.1-0-6-1


Thu, 12/08/2011

It took nearly four decades for a batsman to score the first double-century in one-day international cricket but less than two years for the second. Virender Sehwag, the batsman most touted to break Sachin Tendulkar's record for the highest individual ODI score, didn't merely break it - he shattered it and raised the bar so high that it's hard to imagine anyone, apart from Sehwag himself, raising it higher.
Unlike Tendulkar in Gwalior, Sehwag wasn't running out of time as he raced towards 200 in Indore. He got there in the 44th over and had made 219 off 149 balls by the time he was dismissed in the 47th. And in one of cricket's stranger coincidences, both ODI double-centuries were scored in the same Indian state - Madhya Pradesh - at venues less than 500 kilometres apart.

Thu, 12/08/2011

The final three positions in the 2012 ICC T20 Cricket World Cup Qualification Tournament have been decided as the Asian Cricket Council declared its semi-finalists in the ACC T20 tournament in Nepal. Joining Afghanistan (already qualified by virtue of having ODI status) are Oman, Hong Kong and Nepal. 

The sixteen team event will be held in March in Dubai and will include Canada, USA, Bermuda, Ireland, Scotland, Netherlands, Denmark, Italy, Kenya, Namibia, Uganda, Papa New Guinea, as well as the four Asian qualifiers. 

Final tournament groupings will be announced shortly by ICC. 

Wed, 12/07/2011


The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced the third round of ICC Intercontinental Cup fixtures to be played at the beginning of next year.


The fixtures listed include both ICC Intercontinental Cup dates along with the 50-Over League fixtures and details of Twenty20 International  matches that will be played by the teams during the window from February through to April.


The fixtures are as follows:


6-9 April – ICC Intercontinental Cup, Wanderers Sports Club, Windhoek

11 April – 50-over match, 50-Over League, Wanderers Sports Club, Windhoek

12 April – 50-over match, 50-Over League, Wanderers Sports Club, Windhoek



Mon, 12/05/2011

Michael Dighton's men will head to Barbados this week to participate in a 10 day training and match tour ahead of the Carribean T20 tournament in January. 

The tour will start on Tuesday as the team leaves for Barbados and will include matches against Barbados, Barbados u25, and CCC. 

Touring Squad 


Rizwan Cheema (PCB - TDCA) - VICE CAPTAIN

Usman Limbada  (PCB - TDCA)




Ruvindu Gunaskera (OVERSEAS - TDCA)

Abdul Sattar (UNITED - C&CDL)

Durand Sorraine (VIKINGS - TDCA)

Khurram Chohan (CANASIA - C&DCL)

Harvir Baidwan (YORKSHIRE - TDCA)

Manny Aulakh (RICHMOND - BCMCL)


Junaid Siddique (PCB - TDCA)

Tyrone Roberts (VIKINGS - TDCA)

Zubin Surkari (TCSCC - TDCA)

Kushroo Wadia (TCSCC - TDCA)

Raza Rehman (TCSCC - TDCA)

Hamza Tariq (UNITED - C&DCL)

Sun, 12/04/2011


Defending champions Afghanistan, United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman registered win along with hosts Nepal on the first day of the ACC Twenty20 Cup in Kathmandu.

UAE beat Kuwait

At the TU Cricket Ground, UAE proved that Kuwait is no match to them defeating them by 4 wickets in a thoroughly professional display.

Kuwait’s decision to bat first could not help them much. They lost wickets regularly and struggled against bowling of UAE. The generosity of UAE bowlers, in giving away 36 extra runs, and a blasting innings by Mohammad Murad took them to 135 in 19.5 overs.


Sat, 12/03/2011

Afghanistan moved by Malaysia by 59 runs in the opener of the Asian Cricket Council T20 Qualification Tournament Saturday in Nepal. Also winning on day one were Oman, UAE and Nepal who are amongst the favorites to qualify for the T20 Cricket World Cup Qualifier in March in Dubai. Canada will be one of the 16 teams participating in the tournament.

Sun, 11/27/2011

West Indies were today crowned as champions of the ICC Women's World Cup Qualifier 2011, after defeating Pakistan by 130 runs. By virtue of winning the tournament, West Indies has risen in the Reliance ICC Women's ODI Team Rankings - West Indies now sits fifth in the world while Pakistan has risen from eighth to now occupy sixth place.