Staff | Cricket Canada
September 9, 2011

Ryerson have claimed the 2011 Canadian University Championship in a hard fought contest vs the perenial finalists York University.  



In the Semi Final between Group B Champions Ryerson University and Group A Runner up University of Waterloo, U Waterloo batted first and scored 134/9 in 20 overs. Waleed Cheema scored 67 while Rahat Mirza took 2-36 for Ryerson. In the chase, Ryerson scored 135/4, getting to the target in the final over. Farhan Khan was not out on 44 and Hassan Mirza scored 31. Kumar Erramilli took 3 wickets for Waterloo.

In the second Semi Final between Sheridan College and York University, the crowd saw the most exciting match to date in the tournaments young history. Batting first Sheridan College scored 140. Muzammil Ali scored 47 not out while Mudassir Ali scored 40. Arsalan Qadir took 2-27 for York U.

Chasing 141, York University fell agonizingly short getting to 140, and taking the match to a  super over. Khushroo Wadia Scored 23 while Hassan Chogtai Scored 20 for York. Harman Kahlon took 2-27 for Sheridan. In the Super over, York U Batted first and scored 15 runs with Hassan Chogtai scoring 12 runs. In reply Sheridan College could only manage 12 runs.

In the Final Match, York University batted first. They were cruising on 80/1 powered by Khushroo Wadia’s 41. Parth Raval came into bowl and with a magical spell of 4-9, started a collapse where York U ended up scoring only 110. In the chase for 112, Ryerson cruised losing only 5 wickets. Noman Aslam scored 34.

Hassan Mirza from Ryerson was adjudged the Best Batsman and M.V.P (Best All rounder)  of the Tournament with 210 Runs and 9 wickets.

Parth Raval (Ryerson) was adjusted the man of the match of the finals (9/4) as well as the Best Bowler for the tournament taking 11 wickets giving away only 53 runs.

In the Plate championship McGill University beat Concordia University by 4 wickets.

DAY 3 was the last chance for teams to book a place in the semi finals of the Canadian University Cricket Championship at King City. 

York U 196 (Saif Rahman 34, Hasan Adil 32) Defeated Concordia U (76) by 120 Runs
McMaster 156 Defeated Ryerson 149 by 7 runs.
Brock U 81 Lost to McGill U 82/5 By 5 wickets

Ryerson Became the group B Champions with 15 Points (NRR +1.78) and York U the group Runners UP with 15 points (NRR +1.62). McMaster University also finished at 15 points (NRR +1.06) but fell short on the Net Run Rate.

Sheridan is the group champion in group A with 20 points while U Waterloo 10 Points (NRR +0.31) is the group runner up. Brock U were 3rd in the group with 10 points (NRR +0.11).

Friday Sheridan College faces York U in King City 1A and Ryerson takes on last years Champions U Waterloo at King city 1B. Semi Finals starts at 11AM and Final commencing at 2.30 PM.