ICC Announces Intercontinental Cup Fixtures

Canada Draws Afghanistan First
2011 - 2013 Intercontinental Cup
by CC
May 17, 2011

Canada has drawn defending champions Afghanistan in the opening round of the 2011-2013 Intercontinental Cup. The International Cricket Council's first class tournament will feature 8 teams and run over 3 years as opposed to the previous editions which ran over two years.

Joining Canada in the tournament are Afghanistan, Scotland, Ireland, Namibia, United Arab Emirates, Kenya, and the Netherlands. Canada has not won any of the previous five tournaments but were finalists in 2004 and 2007.

Accompanying this tournament will be a 50 over tournament that creates an international 50 over league. The matches are slated to have full One Day International status however some items are still being reviewed with respect to Namibia and UAE who do not have ODI status. 

The countries are in the process of negotiating match schedules for this associates Future Tours Program and matches will be announced in due course. Afghanistan (June/July 2011), UAE (July/August 2013), and The Netherlands (September 2013) are Canada's home matches in the tournament. Canada will visit Ireland (September 2012), Namibia (March/April 2012), Scotland (June/July 2012), and Kenya (March/April 2013) over the next 3 years. 

The announcement ends speculation about the future of the tournament and gives schedule certainty to the ICC's top Associate member countries for the next several years.

The ICC will make a decision about Canada and other Associates participation in the 2015 World Cup at their annual conference