Wed, 12/07/2011


The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced the third round of ICC Intercontinental Cup fixtures to be played at the beginning of next year.


The fixtures listed include both ICC Intercontinental Cup dates along with the 50-Over League fixtures and details of Twenty20 International  matches that will be played by the teams during the window from February through to April.


The fixtures are as follows:


6-9 April – ICC Intercontinental Cup, Wanderers Sports Club, Windhoek

11 April – 50-over match, 50-Over League, Wanderers Sports Club, Windhoek

12 April – 50-over match, 50-Over League, Wanderers Sports Club, Windhoek



Mon, 12/05/2011

Michael Dighton's men will head to Barbados this week to participate in a 10 day training and match tour ahead of the Carribean T20 tournament in January. 

The tour will start on Tuesday as the team leaves for Barbados and will include matches against Barbados, Barbados u25, and CCC. 

Touring Squad 


Rizwan Cheema (PCB - TDCA) - VICE CAPTAIN

Usman Limbada  (PCB - TDCA)




Ruvindu Gunaskera (OVERSEAS - TDCA)

Abdul Sattar (UNITED - C&CDL)

Durand Sorraine (VIKINGS - TDCA)

Khurram Chohan (CANASIA - C&DCL)

Harvir Baidwan (YORKSHIRE - TDCA)

Manny Aulakh (RICHMOND - BCMCL)


Junaid Siddique (PCB - TDCA)

Tyrone Roberts (VIKINGS - TDCA)

Zubin Surkari (TCSCC - TDCA)

Kushroo Wadia (TCSCC - TDCA)

Raza Rehman (TCSCC - TDCA)

Hamza Tariq (UNITED - C&DCL)

Sun, 12/04/2011


Defending champions Afghanistan, United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman registered win along with hosts Nepal on the first day of the ACC Twenty20 Cup in Kathmandu.

UAE beat Kuwait

At the TU Cricket Ground, UAE proved that Kuwait is no match to them defeating them by 4 wickets in a thoroughly professional display.

Kuwait’s decision to bat first could not help them much. They lost wickets regularly and struggled against bowling of UAE. The generosity of UAE bowlers, in giving away 36 extra runs, and a blasting innings by Mohammad Murad took them to 135 in 19.5 overs.


Sat, 12/03/2011

Afghanistan moved by Malaysia by 59 runs in the opener of the Asian Cricket Council T20 Qualification Tournament Saturday in Nepal. Also winning on day one were Oman, UAE and Nepal who are amongst the favorites to qualify for the T20 Cricket World Cup Qualifier in March in Dubai. Canada will be one of the 16 teams participating in the tournament.

Sun, 11/27/2011

West Indies were today crowned as champions of the ICC Women's World Cup Qualifier 2011, after defeating Pakistan by 130 runs. By virtue of winning the tournament, West Indies has risen in the Reliance ICC Women's ODI Team Rankings - West Indies now sits fifth in the world while Pakistan has risen from eighth to now occupy sixth place.

Sun, 11/20/2011

West Indies and South Africa maintained its unbeaten runs in the ICC Women's World Cup Qualifier 2011 (WWCQ) in Dhaka as the sides won both of its final rounds of group matches at the tournament.
West Indies maintained its unbeaten run in the ICC WWCQ 2011 after the side defeated hosts Bangladesh by 80 runs in front of over 5000 Bangladeshi fans that filled the stands at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium (SBNCS) in Mirpur.

Wed, 11/16/2011

As part of the ongoing independent governance review of the International Cricket Council, which was announced on 30 June 2011, members of the media and the general public are encouraged to have their say and send their views to the external review team for consideration.
In order for other interested parties to be able to communicate their views on the ICC’s governance, the review team has set up a restricted mailbox, to which only it will have access, therefore guaranteeing confidentiality.
 Stakeholders are invited to send their views to the review team on the ICC’s governance to In order to allow thorough consideration of all opinions, individuals have been asked to send their views no later than 9 December.
The independent external review team has been appointed by the ICC to review and report on the governance of the ICC. The chairman of the review is the Rt Hon. the Lord Woolf and he is being supported by PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC).
 Lord Woolf’s advisor on the review is the former Chief Justice of the Punjab, Mukul Mudgal. This group constitutes the review team. The scope of the review covers governance, membership, ethics and the role of the ICC.

Mon, 11/14/2011

Canada's Ryerson University and NYU-Polytechnic faced off on TV Asia on Sat Nov 12, in the Finals of the American College Cricket Northeast Championship, and an opportunity to zoom up the rankings, maybe even to number 1 in American College Cricket. 
Ryerson University’s pace attack is 5 deep, and tall -  Warren Rajroop is 6’5′, Rayan Pathan 6’4′, Siufian Chaudhary 6’2′, Azad Zaidi,6′  with Harsh Desai -bouncers come easy ! 
NYU-Polytechnic atttack boast America’s fastest, Adrian Gordon but it was clear that Ryerson held the advantage in the bowling dept.  
Batting first the NYU-Polytechnic batsmen relied on extras to move the score along, and at the end of the Power Play they had just 17 runs for 2 wickets.  
However hard hitting strokeplayer Adrian Gordon had just come to the wicket, and he delighted with some glorious cuts and hooks, getting 4 twos on the slow outfield, before stroking 3 fours. 
In March Gordon smashed 145* in the national championship, so the Ryerson team had to be getting worried when Gordon came back too casually for a 2nd run, and was run out ! 
Gordon was out at 56, and only Somesh Batra, 12 reached double figures as the NYU-Poly team crumbled. 
Once again Harsh Desai took crucial wickets, 2 for 17 off 3 overs. Hasan Mirza, the Ryerson captain, 2 for 15 in 3 overs and Azad Zaidi 3 for 6 in 1.3 overs.  
Hasan Zaidi then opened the batting with Farhan Khan,10 and played a solid innings before opening up,striking 2 sixes and 1 four in 30*. Coming at 3, Rahat smashed 4 sixes in his 33* as the two put on an unbeaten partnership of 68 runs to win the game and the TV Asia Trophy for Ryerson ! 
The MVP was Harsh Desai, who once again took crucial wickets to swing the game Ryerson’s way.
Ryerson won in such a convincing manner that they have immediately vaulted themselves to be among the favorites to win the Chanderpaul Trophy at next March’s American College Cricket Spring Break Championship. 
Play by play commentary for the game was done by Lloyd Jodah, as TV Asia and American College Cricket teamed up to bring the game out of the shadows, and into people's living rooms in the United States and Canada.

Fri, 11/11/2011

As Canada's oldest sport, Cricketers have been some of the oldest contributors to our armed services. Many cricketers careers ended in their prime as they left Canada to join war efforts in Europe in the early part of the 1900s. Today we remember the sacrifice of all who have given their lives in the service of our country.

Sun, 11/06/2011

Cricket Canada wishes to appoint a qualified “Harassment & Abuse Protection Officer”  to provide  services regarding harassment and abuse in its teams, camps, member organisations, leagues and clubs.
The person shall train other employees/contractors/volunteers to implement and administer all activities related to harassment and abuse at various level of the organisation. The appointed person will have the responsibility of implementing and effective harassment and abuse prevention program at all levels of the organisation and measure its effectiveness on regular basis.